School Governance

Ide Primary School is a member of the Exeter Learning Trust, a Co-operative Trust established in January 2014.  It comprises nearly all of the Exeter primary schools west of the river, along with West Exe School (secondary).  Like all member schools, we are a Foundation School, albeit maintained by Devon County Council.  The Trust owns the land for the schools, while staff are employed directly by each constituent school’s Governing Body. The Trust has been formed with the purpose of providing support and facilitating collaboration between the local schools which aims to provide enhanced learning opportunities for your children.

There are twelve governors on our Governing Body, including the Headteacher.  Governors are elected, nominated or appointed and are representative of parents, teachers, the Local Education Authority and the local community.

Our Governing Body is made up of:

Foundation Governors (appointed by the Trust) 2
Parent Governors (elected by parents) 4
Staff Governor (elected by staff) 1
Co-opted Governors 3
Local Authority Governor 1
Headteacher 1

Governors, collectively, are responsible for:

  • setting the strategic direction of the school;

  • ensuring clarity of ethos and vision;

  • employment of staff;

  • holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;

  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and ensuring that its money is well spent.

Meetings, which members of the public may attend as observers, are normally held twice each term, and specialist committees meet in addition to the main body meetings.  If you would like more information on being a school governor or current vacancies we may have please contact the Clerk to The Governors via the school office.


T. 01392 259964 F. 01392 459368 E. W.